in , , ,

Runs scored by Indian WC squad Batsmen in their debut match, 2 were out for DUCK

Team India is preparing for the upcoming World Cup to be held in England and Wales. BCCI has already announced the 15 members squad for the world cup 2019. Now, let’s recall some glorious moments of these player’s career. Let’s take a look at the runs scored by Indian batsmen in their debut match.

1. Virat Kohli – 12 runs

The Indian captain played his first ODI match on 18th August 2008 vs Sri Lanka. His cap number is 175. Scored 12 runs in the 22 balls he faced before getting out for Kulasekara.

2. Rohit Sharma – Did Not Bat

The Indian vice captain made his ODI debut on 23 June 2007 against Ireland. Unfortunately, he did not get the chance to bat in his first game. He was the 168th player to debut a ODI match.

3. Dinesh Karthik – 1 run

The reserve wicket keeper in the squad is the senior most in correspondence with their ODI debut. He made his debut on 5th September 2004 vs England. He was the 156th player to make a debut for India in ODI’s.

4. Mahendra Singh Dhoni – 0 runs

He made his ODI debut on 23rd december 2004 against Bangladesh, he did not have a great start to his ODI career, getting run out for a duck on debut. He cap number is 158.

5. Ravindra Jadeja – 60 runs

His international debut came in the final match of Sri Lanka series on 8 February 2009 where he scored 60* from 77 balls.

6. Kedar Jadhav – 20 runs

He played his first international match on 16 November 2014 against Sri Lanka and scored 20 off 24 balls before he was out stumped. His cap number is 205.

7. Vijay Shankar – Did Not Bat

In January 2019, Shankar was named the replacement for Hardik Pandya. On 18 January 2019 he made his ODI debut against Australia. His cap number is 226.

8. Shikhar Dhawan – 0 runs

Dhawan made his debut on October 20, 2010 in absence of Sachin, Sehwag and Gambhir at the top order against Australia where Dhawan got out for a duck in the very first over.

9. KL Rahul – 100 runs

KL Rahul became the first Indian to score a century in an ODI debut match. He made his debut on 11th June 2016 vs Zimbabwe where he scored an unbeaten century and also awarded Man of the match in his first match.

10. Hardik Pandya – 36 runs

Pandya made his ODI debut for India against New Zealand on 16 October 2016. In his first ODI innings as a batsman, he scored 36 runs from 32 balls and became the fourth Indian to be awarded Man of the match on debut.

These are the figures of Indian batsmen on their first ODI debut match. Out of these Dhawan and Dhoni got out for duck and KL Rahul scored a century and Rohit and Vijay Shankar did not get a chance to bat. And the important thing was both Pandya and Rahul were awarded Man of the match in their first international match.

Originally Published by  Entertainment G C

CEAT Cricket Awards: Virat Kohli wins International Cricketer of the Year and Best Batsman, Jasprit Bumrah Best Bowler

The world cup (1996) :Dark day of Indian cricket, click to know why?